Centauri Saga - Rule Clarifications - Rules I couldnt find in the rulebook 1.5

  • Scrat
    Scrat 2016-10-23 11:50:41

    1) The rulebook mentions victory points, but they were not in the box. Is this correct?

    2) For what components are the number of components in the box the limit?
    I understand that all card types, Sectors and plastic figures are limited. But are exploration tokens, combat tokens, Astartium tokens and victory point tokens limited by the amount in the box?

    3) The rules state you can use events for collaboration. If an event says "you", does this restrict the card to only using it for yourself, or does it refer to the armada you are playing the card on?

    4) The Butterfly Effect is a common card. Should this be instant?

    5) Has the pushback card an officially errata to "raider or player" instead of enemy?

    6) In the distress call mission, what happens if you move the colony ship in a space with a raider?
    My suggestion: change the raider movement rule to: "If at any time a raider and the colony ship are in the same space, than remove the raider from the board and deal damage to (remove combat tokens from) the colony ship equal to the level of the raider."

    7) In the distress call mission, what is the amount of ships you need to rescue. The text states "number of players", but the mission track has "number of players + 1" spaces for XPM's

    8) There is no general rule that you cannot move off-board to reveal new tiles if the sector pile is empty.

    9) The safe passage mission refers to an "Exploration Phase", but no such phase exists. If a general rule like 8) is added, it is enough to state "Return all remaining Sectors to the box" in the setup instructions.

    10) One of the intel report cards places a sector at distance 4 from the portal. Is this on purpose to add a difficult card, with a sector that can only be reached through a single sector with a level 3 raider?

    11) When you discard a unit or power up (Astral Eagle, Energy Cells), what happens with the activation token needed to activate the ability?

    12) The duration of effects is hardly ever mentioned. Until when do the following effects last?
    (effects 1 roll; effects movement to 1 sector; last until end of combat / exploration; lasts until end of phase; lasts until end of round; lasts until end of game)
    - Cloaking Device (action card) (
    - Astroid Sweeper (upgrade card)
    - X Squad (unit)
    - X Eagle (unit)
    - Star Destroyer (unit)

    Suggestions for reprints:
    a) The reference card has coloured borders around the raiders, but those colours differ from the actual plastic, which makes the card a bit unclear. By swapping the colours of the level 1 and 2 raiders and changing the 3rd one to pink/purple the card will be much more clear.

    Reply - Quote
  • Scrat
    Scrat 2016-10-23 12:00:00

    No edit option, so I ll rectify 6) here.
    It is in the colony ship section, not the raider section (sorry)
    And the problem is "a raider reaches": this means the raider is the one moving. Same suggestion though, replace with "if at any time a raider and the colony ship are in the same sector, than ..."

    Reply - Quote
  • Scrat
    Scrat 2016-10-23 14:05:00

    Now I remember the 2nd suggestion I wanted to do:
    b) At the moment "Combat" means two things: fighting with an enemy, and the first stat of the armada. This is sometimes confusing, since the difference between "during Combat" and "during a Combat check" is not so large. Since the 2nd stat is named "Shield" I would suggest naming the 1st one "Weapon" (so both are a single noun).

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-10-24 02:28:24

    Scrat wrote:
    1) The rulebook mentions victory points, but they were not in the box. Is this correct?



    You are correct, VPs are from the PvP Arena Scenarios included in the relevant Expansion. We should have removed the mention of them in the rule book.

    2) For what components are the number of components in the box the limit?
    I understand that all card types, Sectors and plastic figures are limited. But are exploration tokens, combat tokens, Astartium tokens and victory point tokens limited by the amount in the box?



    For all components.

    3) The rules state you can use events for collaboration. If an event says "you", does this restrict the card to only using it for yourself, or does it refer to the armada you are playing the card on?



    Yes you are right. The "you" refers to the owner of the armada that this card affects. So, when you play it for another player then it refers to him/her.

    4) The Butterfly Effect is a common card. Should this be instant?



    You are right. Instead of "Common" it should say "Instant".

    5) Has the pushback card an officially errata to "raider or player" instead of enemy?



    No we haven't issued an official errata for this card. There is only one way to abuse this card, and it can happen only if you manage to have BOTH cards in hand, place two bosses one sector away, and then move and push them in the same sector, so that you can kill them with only one Starbase.

    We do have in our plans to change the card in the 2nd Edition of the game, but for now, if you are lucky enough to be able to execute the above manoeuvre, then it is legit.

    6) In the distress call mission, what happens if you move the colony ship in a space with a raider?
    My suggestion: change the raider movement rule to: "If at any time a raider and the colony ship are in the same space, than remove the raider from the board and deal damage to (remove combat tokens from) the colony ship equal to the level of the raider."



    Whenever the Colony Ship "meets" a Raider, you remove the Raider and deal the relevant damage to the Colony Ship. We will adjust the wording as you propose in our next version of the rulebook.

    7) In the distress call mission, what is the amount of ships you need to rescue. The text states "number of players", but the mission track has "number of players + 1" spaces for XPM's



    The correct amount is the amount the Scenario Card. Every time you save one, you fill a spot on the card. The text should have said "depending on number of players".

    8) There is no general rule that you cannot move off-board to reveal new tiles if the sector pile is empty.



    If there are no more sectors in the pile to explore, then you can not explore.

    9) The safe passage mission refers to an "Exploration Phase", but no such phase exists. If a general rule like 8) is added, it is enough to state "Return all remaining Sectors to the box" in the setup instructions.



    You are right. The Phase is "Encounter" and one of the actions you can get during it is the "Exploration". So, if we want to be politically correct, the word "phase" shoule be replaced with the word "action".

    10) One of the intel report cards places a sector at distance 4 from the portal. Is this on purpose to add a difficult card, with a sector that can only be reached through a single sector with a level 3 raider?



    Yes. :)

    11) When you discard a unit or power up (Astral Eagle, Energy Cells), what happens with the activation token needed to activate the ability?



    You leave it at the relevant "slot" until you can recover it during upkeep.

    12) The duration of effects is hardly ever mentioned. Until when do the following effects last?
    (effects 1 roll; effects movement to 1 sector; last until end of combat / exploration; lasts until end of phase; lasts until end of round; lasts until end of game)
    - Cloaking Device (action card) (
    - Astroid Sweeper (upgrade card)
    - X Squad (unit)
    - X Eagle (unit)
    - Star Destroyer (unit)



    As far as the SPecial abilities that are activated with an "Activation Token" are concerned:
    - If a special ability has an effect that is "instant" (for example "Repair 1 Damage", "Reduce Damage taken by 1", "Re-roll X dice", "Gain 1 Astartium when killing a raider" etc), then this effect is applied only once.
    - All other effects, are active until the Upkeep phase of the next turn (for example "Rolls of 6 counts as 2 successes", X-Squad's Ability)

    As far as the action card "Cloaking Device" is concerned, it is active only during the "Movement Phase".

    Suggestions for reprints:
    a) The reference card has coloured borders around the raiders, but those colours differ from the actual plastic, which makes the card a bit unclear. By swapping the colours of the level 1 and 2 raiders and changing the 3rd one to pink/purple the card will be much more clear.



    The reference card will change so that the colors match the miniatures.

    Now I remember the 2nd suggestion I wanted to do:
    b) At the moment "Combat" means two things: fighting with an enemy, and the first stat of the armada. This is sometimes confusing, since the difference between "during Combat" and "during a Combat check" is not so large. Since the 2nd stat is named "Shield" I would suggest naming the 1st one "Weapon" (so both are a single noun).



    That is a really nice suggestion. :)

    Reply - Quote
Terms & Conditions - Contact Us