Centauri Saga - General Discussion - Rule Questions

  • HIVE410
    HIVE410 2017-01-21 08:27:51

    1. I arrive at the jump gate. I perform an encounter. I win. Do I drop off the XPM if I am still at the jump gate? I assume yes.

    2. Event card has a recurring event indicating I lose a cube. Does this mean I move the cube back one on the the CC or the star port or the lab? Or one of the armada attributes?

    3. If I move back on the lab below one of the CC+1 markers do I also move back one on the CC and if so do I lose the associated benefit? A card or an activation token? Or once gained always have?

    4. Do all of the scenarios end at the conclusion of the tenth turn? If so, then in Repair the Jump Gate I am expected to either win before both Bosses are out or build to star gates and defeat both bosses and deliver three XPM in 10 turns. Is that correct?

    5. In the armada stats is 1 the min and 10 the max?

    6. What is the difference between the yellow and the purple activation tokens?

    7. Does battle continue until all enemies in a sector are defeated alternating between ships if there is more than one?

    8. On the Diversion card it says the XPM is damaged. What happens to it if I lose the encounter? I assume that if I win that it is repaired, I get the bonus and I drop off the XPM.

    9. It appears that I need to read the rules for all of the scenarios to get the answers to some of the core game questions. For example, the rules don't seem to say if a raider can move onto the jump gate but one of the scenario rules does. Does this mean that scenario rules apply to all scenarios? We played our first game with the Repair the Jump Gate. 4 raiders were moved on to the jump gate because of a boss. We didn't find anything about this in the core rules. One of the scenario rules says that if a raider moves on to the jump gate that x, y, z, happen. Ok, in our case 4 moved on. Do we resolve them in order? 2 player game. Both players armadas were in the jump gate. Multiple questions related to how this is resolved that we couldn't find in the rules.

    We like the game but were frustrated by our inability to find answers to the questions we list above.

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2017-01-22 20:22:00

    Hi,

    I am assuming that you played the game with the revised rulebook, which you can also download from this portal. My responses will be based on that one.

    HIVE410 wrote:
    1. I arrive at the jump gate. I perform an encounter. I win. Do I drop off the XPM if I am still at the jump gate? I assume yes.



    Yes you are correct.

    2. Event card has a recurring event indicating I lose a cube. Does this mean I move the cube back one on the the CC or the star port or the lab? Or one of the armada attributes?



    The "Cube" in this card is the symbol of your "Hull" which you can see on your Player Mat. So you essentially lose 1 Hull Point.

    3. If I move back on the lab below one of the CC+1 markers do I also move back one on the CC and if so do I lose the associated benefit? A card or an activation token? Or once gained always have?



    Since you never lose your upgrades. This situation will never happen.

    4. Do all of the scenarios end at the conclusion of the tenth turn? If so, then in Repair the Jump Gate I am expected to either win before both Bosses are out or build to star gates and defeat both bosses and deliver three XPM in 10 turns. Is that correct?



    Yes, you are expected to win the Scenario Objectives before the end of the 10th turn.

    So, for "Repair the Jumpgate", you need to fully repair the Jumpgate by putting the relevant amount of XPMs on it (based on number of Players). Also you need to have NO Boss in play because they will be jamming it. So, yes there is a chance you will be able to finish everything before all bosses spawn, and as such win the game way earlier than the 10th round.

    5. In the armada stats is 1 the min and 10 the max?



    Yes.

    6. What is the difference between the yellow and the purple activation tokens?



    Yellow activation tokens are used only for the Solo Play variation.

    7. Does battle continue until all enemies in a sector are defeated alternating between ships if there is more than one?



    Fighting is "optional", so each player during his turn chooses what s/he is going to do. You can only attack ONE opponent per turn (unless you activate some special ability or have some special action card that allows you to perform more attacks). When a battle starts it is to the death. That means that either the player or the Raider needs to die. After the end of the battle and the resolve of the outcome, the next player gets to decide what s/he wants to do. So, if the first player lost, then there is the choice of attacking, if the first player won but there are more than one raiders in the sector, then s/he can choose to attack another one. And so on.

    8. On the Diversion card it says the XPM is damaged. What happens to it if I lose the encounter? I assume that if I win that it is repaired, I get the bonus and I drop off the XPM.



    As it is stated in the rules (p. 17): "If you lose then you discard the XPM, draw and put into play an Event."

    9. It appears that I need to read the rules for all of the scenarios to get the answers to some of the core game questions. For example, the rules don't seem to say if a raider can move onto the jump gate but one of the scenario rules does. Does this mean that scenario rules apply to all scenarios? We played our first game with the Repair the Jump Gate. 4 raiders were moved on to the jump gate because of a boss. We didn't find anything about this in the core rules. One of the scenario rules says that if a raider moves on to the jump gate that x, y, z, happen. Ok, in our case 4 moved on. Do we resolve them in order? 2 player game. Both players armadas were in the jump gate. Multiple questions related to how this is resolved that we couldn't find in the rules.



    Each Scenario gives different directives for how the Raiders move and what happens. In the "Fixing the Jumpgate" it is stated in the rules (p.17) that:

    "If at any time, under any circumstance, a Raider reaches the Jumpgate, then you lose one of the XPM already placed on the Jumpgate. If there is no XPM on the Jumpgate then you should remove one XPM from play (either from a Commander’s Cargo or a Sector). In addition, each player gets damage equal to the level of the Raider. Discard the Raider token."

    I hope this answers all your questions.

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2017-01-22 20:22:00

    Hi,

    I am assuming that you played the game with the revised rulebook, which you can also download from this portal. My responses will be based on that one.

    HIVE410 wrote:
    1. I arrive at the jump gate. I perform an encounter. I win. Do I drop off the XPM if I am still at the jump gate? I assume yes.



    Yes you are correct.

    2. Event card has a recurring event indicating I lose a cube. Does this mean I move the cube back one on the the CC or the star port or the lab? Or one of the armada attributes?



    The "Cube" in this card is the symbol of your "Hull" which you can see on your Player Mat. So you essentially lose 1 Hull Point.

    3. If I move back on the lab below one of the CC+1 markers do I also move back one on the CC and if so do I lose the associated benefit? A card or an activation token? Or once gained always have?



    Since you never lose your upgrades. This situation will never happen.

    4. Do all of the scenarios end at the conclusion of the tenth turn? If so, then in Repair the Jump Gate I am expected to either win before both Bosses are out or build to star gates and defeat both bosses and deliver three XPM in 10 turns. Is that correct?



    Yes, you are expected to win the Scenario Objectives before the end of the 10th turn.

    So, for "Repair the Jumpgate", you need to fully repair the Jumpgate by putting the relevant amount of XPMs on it (based on number of Players). Also you need to have NO Boss in play because they will be jamming it. So, yes there is a chance you will be able to finish everything before all bosses spawn, and as such win the game way earlier than the 10th round.

    5. In the armada stats is 1 the min and 10 the max?



    Yes.

    6. What is the difference between the yellow and the purple activation tokens?



    Yellow activation tokens are used only for the Solo Play variation.

    7. Does battle continue until all enemies in a sector are defeated alternating between ships if there is more than one?



    Fighting is "optional", so each player during his turn chooses what s/he is going to do. You can only attack ONE opponent per turn (unless you activate some special ability or have some special action card that allows you to perform more attacks). When a battle starts it is to the death. That means that either the player or the Raider needs to die. After the end of the battle and the resolve of the outcome, the next player gets to decide what s/he wants to do. So, if the first player lost, then there is the choice of attacking, if the first player won but there are more than one raiders in the sector, then s/he can choose to attack another one. And so on.

    8. On the Diversion card it says the XPM is damaged. What happens to it if I lose the encounter? I assume that if I win that it is repaired, I get the bonus and I drop off the XPM.



    As it is stated in the rules (p. 17): "If you lose then you discard the XPM, draw and put into play an Event."

    9. It appears that I need to read the rules for all of the scenarios to get the answers to some of the core game questions. For example, the rules don't seem to say if a raider can move onto the jump gate but one of the scenario rules does. Does this mean that scenario rules apply to all scenarios? We played our first game with the Repair the Jump Gate. 4 raiders were moved on to the jump gate because of a boss. We didn't find anything about this in the core rules. One of the scenario rules says that if a raider moves on to the jump gate that x, y, z, happen. Ok, in our case 4 moved on. Do we resolve them in order? 2 player game. Both players armadas were in the jump gate. Multiple questions related to how this is resolved that we couldn't find in the rules.



    Each Scenario gives different directives for how the Raiders move and what happens. In the "Fixing the Jumpgate" it is stated in the rules (p.17) that:

    "If at any time, under any circumstance, a Raider reaches the Jumpgate, then you lose one of the XPM already placed on the Jumpgate. If there is no XPM on the Jumpgate then you should remove one XPM from play (either from a Commander’s Cargo or a Sector). In addition, each player gets damage equal to the level of the Raider. Discard the Raider token."

    I hope this answers all your questions.

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE410
    HIVE410 2017-01-23 00:35:14

    It does, thank you.

    Reply - Quote
Terms & Conditions - Technical Support - Contact Us