Dwar7s Fall - Rule Clarifications - Ogres

  • HIVE587
    HIVE587 2017-03-24 18:53:11

    Played the game for the first time this week, and we noticed a couple of things about the use of ogres.

    Q - Can you play ogre cards at any time during the Action Phase, or only during your own turn of the Action Phase?

    The rule book suggests that the same person goes first every round (the youngest person), and that you can only play Ogres on your turn. If so, this puts the person going first at a disadvantage, and the person going last has an advantage, as they can ruin the plans of others by playing their ogre card once everyone has done their actions.
    We would suggest two amendments to the rules;
    1) The first player rotates round each turn (i.e. a different person goes first each round)
    2) Ogres can be played at any point during the Action Phase

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2017-03-24 22:54:43


    when you do not use the "Hard Workers" Royal Decree, who goes first doesn't actually make a difference. There isn't anything that happens at the end of each "round", and there is literally no concept of "rounds". Pretty much like "Monopoly", who "goes first" doesn't actually affect gameplay. The only time "rounds" are mentioned are during the "endgame", where we want everyone to get exactly the same amount of turns.

    Playing an Ogre Card is one type of your Actions, and as such can only be played at your turn. This is explained in page 3 of the rules:

    "Play an Ogre Card: Playing an ogre card is a FREE action. You can play more than one card in your turn during the action Phase."

    Now, you say that: "...ruin the plans of others by playing their ogre card once everyone has done their actions.", BUT after they take their turn, then YOU can also play your ogres and "ruin THEIR plans". If you play a couple of games you will realize that the game does not rely on who goes first or who goes last. At the end of the game EVERYONE will have had the chance to play an equal amount of turns, how they used their actions is what determines the winner.

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE587
    HIVE587 2017-03-26 18:29:56

    Thanks for the clarification, but perhaps I've misunderstood.

    We played it like this;
    Player 1 - Actions, Player 2 - Actions, Player 3 - Actions, Player 4 - Actions
    Player 1 - Resolves, Player 2 - Resolves, Player 3 - Resolves, Player 4 - Resolves
    Player 1 - Discards, Player 2 - Discards, Player 3 - Discards, Player 4 - Discards

    This allows Player 4 to play ogre cards in his/her action phase that may prevent Player 1, 2, or 3 from resolving their planned actions.

    Should it be played;
    Player 1 - Actions, Resolves, Discards
    Player 2 - Actions, Resolves, Discards
    Player 3 - Actions, Resolves, Discards
    Player 4 - Actions, Resolves, Discards

    That would greatly reduce the impact of ogre cards (which we found to be a bit too powerful), and I guess, be closer to your Monopoly analogy

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2017-03-26 21:19:40


    yes each player plays his turns (which means ALL of his/her phases), and THEN the next player takes his/her turn and so on.

    Unless you are playing with the "Hard Workers" variation which requires the First Player token and changes the above rule.

    Reply - Quote
Terms & Conditions - Technical Support - Contact Us