Dwar7s Fall - Rule Clarifications - Effect activation of special kingdom cards and sequence of events during resolve

  • Chaotic Ed
    Chaotic Ed 2017-05-07 14:09:56

    My questions resolve around two timing related issues which I will clarify below. It would be nice to hear the designers take on this as well as how other players handle it.

    1) Will the effect of a special kingdom card (castle or monster) take effect as soon as it is placed or after the players turn has ended? I.e. would a player gain an extra turn the same turn he places the castle on the board? And similar for the monsters will they block in the same turn they are placed? My interpretation is that the extra action is awarded starting the next turn but that the monsters will affect the resolve phase during the turn they are placed.

    2) During the resolve phase should the resolutions follow a specific sequence or can they be done in any order? I.e. can a mine be mined and it's produce be used for trade in the same resolve phase provided there are enough dwarves placed to do both? And similarly for defeating the dragon and mining a mine. Let's say that defeating monsters is the last sequence of events during the resolve phase then it wouldn't make sense to try and mine during the same turn, but if defeating monsters can be resolved before mining is resolved you can do both.
    - Mines before monsters => no point in doing both the same turn
    - Monsters before mines => no problem
    - Trade before mines => No point in going to the general store in the same turn
    - Mines before trade => no problem

    What are your thoughts, comments and house rules?

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2017-05-08 00:47:01

    Hi Chaotic Ed,

    here are your answers:

    1. The effect of any card is activated immediately as soon as it is placed. So, yes in the same turn that you place your Castle you get an "Extra turn". Which basically makes the action of "placing your castle" a "free action". Also, the same applies to dragons,frost giants etc.

    2. The order in which YOU (the current player) chooses to resolve the actions during YOUR resolve phase is completely YOUR choice. Of course you should first kill the monster and then mine for gems, or mine for gems and then go trade. It is a big part of the game to be able to resolve more than one actions at the same turn (it is just something that becomes apparent after several times you played the game).

    Hope this answer your questions.

    Reply - Quote
Terms & Conditions - Technical Support - Contact Us