Dwar7s Fall - Rule Clarifications - Dwar7s F.A.Q

  • Luis Brueh
    Luis Brueh 2016-08-21 21:01:11

    1) Does each player begin the game with all of their kingdom cards in hand, available to play?

    A. Every player will start the game with all 9 cards in hand.

    2) Do you have to put dwarfs on a castle to benefit from the extra turn it gives you?

    A. You do not have to put dwarfs on the castle to get the extra turn benefit.

    3) Does each player build their own kingdom, or are all kingdom cards of all players played to form one large interconnected kingdom?

    A. The first player will place one (or more) kingdom tile on the board. The next players can use his tile, but they will also need to place at least one new tile adjacent to his tile on board (due the 9 cards hand size limit!) your kingdom is: the tiles placed within your castle card connected by walls. Build tiles on the board "together" but the kingdoms count VPS separated by walls.

    4) Can I place a castle on top of another castle?

    A. Yes, you can put castles on top of unguarded castles. To prevent that, you just need to place a dwarf on top of your castle. But by experience I think It is not wise to place a castle on top of another castle in games that has more than 2 players (and even in 2 players it can be risky). The guys that are "sharing" the same tile will probably have lots of trouble.

    5) When do you draw ogre cards? Does it cost an action?

    A. To draw one ogre card you need to complete the action in the ogre's tavern (it will take you 2 dwarf place actions as described in the card). When your turn ends, your dwarfs will return with one ogre card (always remember: kingdom tiles + gems + ogres will count in your 9 cards hand limit - and you cannot discard kingdom tiles!)

    6) If an Snow Giant is on your castle at the end of the game, do you still get to count the points from the rest of your Kingdom, or do you essentially not have a Kingdom, since the Giant is sitting on your castle?
    A. If you have a winter giant at you castle at the end of a game you have no castle. And also no kingdom points.

    7) For the secret goal, can you play those in front of you once you have to remove them from your hand, or do they have to stay in your hand 'til the end?
    A. You do not need to spend anything to complete a secret goal, you just need to show it to the other players. (You may reveal the secret goal even when the game is over, provide that you have completed it) Secret goals are like "personal life achievments". So you always keep your current gems & cards used to reach the secret goal.

    ----
    If you still have any question, please feel free to ask me anything. I will try my best to answer you.

    Reply - Quote
  • Shogun
    Shogun 2016-11-08 02:19:59

    First of all - congratulations on designing such a professionally looking and friendly game. Can't wait to play it with my family - it looks like good clean fun. I recently purchased a copy at Hal-Con in Halifax, NS - it was nice meeting you guys. Looks great.

    In going through the rule book as well as the online forum FAQ and questions I was a bit confused - but luckily I found the revised Core Rule book which really helped! Thanks for that!

    Question 1: Any chances of putting a video up of the actual game being played so people could see how you intend the game play to be played and the various rules being used? By the way the other video on Board Game Geek would be a great addition to your website here (from Essen 2016).

    Question 2: Would it make sense to start by placing your castle then you would get 4 actions each turn?

    Question 3: If players decide that instead of building their own private kingdom they try to build one massive kingdom for some reason - it sounds like if there is one dragon within this large realm then none of the players can use any of the mines within that one large kingdom - is this correct?

    Question 4: In a two player game - If your opponent buries your castle with their own - can you still dig up that castle so it can be used once again or is it buried the entire game?
    Because according to the rules you'd need to place dwarfs on that kingdom tile in order to dig but you cannot dig tiles that have dwarfs on them.

    Thanks for your help!

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-11-08 04:18:42

    Hi Shogun,

    it was nice meeting you at HalCon :)

    Let me try and reply to all your questions:

    Question 1: Any chances of putting a video up of the actual game being played so people could see how you intend the game play to be played and the various rules being used? By the way the other video on Board Game Geek would be a great addition to your website here (from Essen 2016).



    We are getting ready for the Kickstarter Campaign, so we will be updating all of our web content in teh next couple of days.

    Question 2: Would it make sense to start by placing your castle then you would get 4 actions each turn?



    Timing the placement of your castle is part of the main strategy in the game. The sooner you do it the more extra actions you will have, but the later you do it, the better and more strategic position you can choose. So, there is no "best" strategy, it all depends on reading your opponent and making a good decision.

    Question 3: If players decide that instead of building their own private kingdom they try to build one massive kingdom for some reason - it sounds like if there is one dragon within this large realm then none of the players can use any of the mines within that one large kingdom - is this correct?



    Yes that is correct. During the new Kickstarter campaign we will release some new variations to the game, that will spice things up as far as "Kingdom Sharing" is concerned...

    Question 4: In a two player game - If your opponent buries your castle with their own - can you still dig up that castle so it can be used once again or is it buried the entire game?
    Because according to the rules you'd need to place dwarfs on that kingdom tile in order to dig but you cannot dig tiles that have dwarfs on them.



    You place dwarfs during the "Action" phase of your turn, while you execute the action during the "Resolve" phase and after you get back your Dwarfs. So, it is completely legit to stack a castle on top of another, and then use the dig action to bring the other castle up.

    Stacking a Castle on top of a Castle forces the game to be extremely more competitive. We recommend doing this after you are familiar enough with the game mechanics.

    Reply - Quote
  • Shogun
    Shogun 2016-11-08 17:42:36

    Thank you for the responses! It does clarify most but I am still confused about the digging.

    I guess my last question came about for the last page of the revised rules it states:
    "You can only dig tiles that have no dwarfs"

    So in a two player game there can only be 2 castles (as there are only 1 castle tile per player).
    Opponent places their castle.
    You bury your opponents castle with your own.
    They want to dig it back up on their turn.
    The only way to dig it back up is to place two of their dwarfs on that tile to be able to dig.
    But now they have placed dwarfs onto the tile that they want to dig up and therefore you cannot do it (as per rule quoted above).

    OR is this situation an exception to the rules? So that technically you can never bury your opponents castle for good in a game of only 2 players?

    In a 3-4 player game it would potentially be a non-issue so long as there could be at least 3 castle tiles in play so if one gets buried... actually I guess it could be if players kept burying the same tile with their own castle... oh oh. So a stack of 3 castles.

    Is 3 the max you can stack or could there be potentially 4 castles in one stack?

    Thank you!!

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-11-08 18:00:07

    I understand the confusion, and it all has to do with "timing". So the rule that you can not dig a tile if it has Dwarfs on it applies at the moment you try to actually execute the action.

    During the resolve phase you FIRST remove the dwarfs and THEN you execute the action. So, at the exact time you are actually "digging" and as such "executing the action" there are NO dwarfs on the tile, since you removed them first.

    So, you can always use a castle to dig at the same tile as itself.

    Hope this clarifies the sequence.

    Of course the same rule applies no matter how many castles are in the same stack.

    Reply - Quote
  • Shogun
    Shogun 2016-11-10 03:39:18

    Kevorque wrote:
    I understand the confusion, and it all has to do with "timing". So the rule that you can not dig a tile if it has Dwarfs on it applies at the moment you try to actually execute the action.

    During the resolve phase you FIRST remove the dwarfs and THEN you execute the action. So, at the exact time you are actually "digging" and as such "executing the action" there are NO dwarfs on the tile, since you removed them first.

    So, you can always use a castle to dig at the same tile as itself.

    Hope this clarifies the sequence.

    Of course the same rule applies no matter how many castles are in the same stack.



    Ahhh - excellent. Yes this clarifies things. Thank you.
    So when mining - you place the dwarfs on the mine - and then remove them again just before you get the gems?

    So another question along the same lines. So if the last player stacked his castle on top places one dwarf there to "block" the others from digging then the only way to remove him would be our ogre friends. And until they remove him - then no digging could take place by the others.

    Does this sound right?

    Thanks again for the speedy responses!

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-11-10 14:17:57

    So when mining - you place the dwarfs on the mine - and then remove them again just before you get the gems?



    Exactly, this is true for ANY action. During "Resolve" you FIRST get your meeples back, and THEN execute the action.

    So another question along the same lines. So if the last player stacked his castle on top places one dwarf there to "block" the others from digging then the only way to remove him would be our ogre friends.



    Yes this is correct.

    And until they remove him - then no digging could take place by the others.



    I would like to rephrase that, just to "politically correct", so:

    "And until they remove him - then noone can use the digging action of that tile."

    You see, if there are 3 or 4 players, there are probably other Castles in play, so you can dig, you just can not use the specific "blocked" castle.

    Reply - Quote
Terms & Conditions - Contact Us