Centauri Saga - Rule Clarifications - Bosses, scenario, and rulebook questions

  • Cowbot
    Cowbot 2016-07-15 12:28:10

    Howdy, I'm a Kickstarter backer and I just came home from Taiwan to find my Centauri Saga box waiting for me! Unfortunately the rule book is kind of a mess. I'm glad the developers have been keeping the rules updated online and are responding to questions, it's good customer service!

    I have some questions that I have not found answered in the new rules book or in the FAQ or forums. All of the quotations and references use rulebook 1.3.

    Bosses:
    When does the boss ability happen? When they spawn? During a phase? This is only really applicable to the Red Barron (shouldn't it be Baron?) and the Black Carrier.

    For the Black Carrier specifically, do both parts of its ability occur simultaneously or do they happen sequentially? In other words, do the 2 raiders it spawns move 1 sector as soon as they spawn? (Also, see above: does it spawn them every turn? Once?)

    Fixing the Jumpgate:
    When you draw a boss card, because the scenario says specifically to draw an event card (end of second paragraph p. 17), and an event is automatically drawn when a boss spawns (p. 9), does that mean when playing this scenario that you draw two event cards each time a boss spawns?

    Rulebook:
    Why did you remove safe locations from the rulebook? I can't find any mention of them now. Maybe I'm just blind.

    On page 6 it says "...places them face up on the table following the exploration rules described in page 12."

    First, I think it's supposed to be "on page 12". Second, the only exploration rules I see on page 12 are the ones for movement, so if I can't place XPM do I get to move my armada to those sectors? Which one do I end up on?

    That may seem like a stupid question, but if the exploration rules say I must move my armada to a sector in order for it to become explored, and placing the new sectors follows that rule (and, indeed, your FAQ says they come in explored) then it follows I must move my armada to those zones before I can place them.


    I'll add more questions to this thread as I run into them.

    Reply - Quote
  • Cowbot
    Cowbot 2016-07-15 12:29:53

    I almost forgot:

    What does XPM stand for?

    Reply - Quote
  • Cowbot
    Cowbot 2016-07-15 12:51:46

    Cowbot wrote:

    Bosses:
    When does the boss ability happen? When they spawn? During a phase? This is only really applicable to the Red Barron (shouldn't it be Baron?) and the Black Carrier.



    Ah ha I found it! It's under the gameplay section, not the component section. 1.2: "If bosses are in play they also apply their effects at this point"

    The Black Carrier specific question still stands though.

    Reply - Quote
  • Cowbot
    Cowbot 2016-07-15 12:56:25

    On a scanning report, do the results occur simultaneously or sequentially? Can you spawn XPM and bandits in the same sector? If you place new sectors, can bandits spawn on them?

    Reply - Quote
  • Cowbot
    Cowbot 2016-07-15 13:09:58

    In regards to moving and sectors, on page 3 it states "... and a number signifying the Movement Point cost you need to pass through it"

    What does "pass through" mean? Does that mean "to enter" the sector or "to exit" the sector, or both?

    For example, if sector A requires 2 movement, and sector B requires 3, if my current sector is sector A, does moving to sector B require 3 movement points, or 5?

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-07-15 16:35:05

    Hi Cowbot,

    I will try and answer all questions bellow:

    For the Black Carrier specifically, do both parts of its ability occur simultaneously or do they happen sequentially? In other words, do the 2 raiders it spawns move 1 sector as soon as they spawn? (Also, see above: does it spawn them every turn? Once?)



    You always resolve rules and events sequentially. The Black Carrier description does NOT say "Spawn 2 Raiders in adjacent sectors and move them by 1 Sector." The description gives you two different actions. One is the spawning, and the second is the moving. You can move ANY 2 Raiders on the board.

    Fixing the Jumpgate: When you draw a boss card, because the scenario says specifically to draw an event card (end of second paragraph p. 17), and an event is automatically drawn when a boss spawns (p. 9), does that mean when playing this scenario that you draw two event cards each time a boss spawns?



    There is no mention on (p.9) of an "automatically drawn" event. In page 9 the rules say "There are multiple ways an event may come into play". This list is a POSSIBLE list of ways an event may appear, and it is here as a reference. Each Scenario will define the way events appear.

    Rulebook: Why did you remove safe locations from the rulebook? I can't find any mention of them now. Maybe I'm just blind.



    Safe Sectors will be introduced in a future scenario. Right now there is no scenario using them.

    On page 6 it says "...places them face up on the table following the exploration rules described in page 12."

    First, I think it's supposed to be "on page 12". Second, the only exploration rules I see on page 12 are the ones for movement, so if I can't place XPM do I get to move my armada to those sectors? Which one do I end up on?

    That may seem like a stupid question, but if the exploration rules say I must move my armada to a sector in order for it to become explored, and placing the new sectors follows that rule (and, indeed, your FAQ says they come in explored) then it follows I must move my armada to those zones before I can place them.



    You do not move your armada in the new sectors opened from the XPM. The reference from p.9 to p.12 is so that you can see the rules of Sector placement.

    What does XPM stand for?



    Rule book p.4: Xalandar Power Module


    On a scanning report, do the results occur simultaneously or sequentially?



    You resolve everything sequentially, first the spawning of XPMs, and then the spawning of Raiders.

    Can you spawn XPM and bandits in the same sector?



    No, you can not do that, for the mere reason that there is no such Scanning Report Card. All Scanning Report cards spawn XPMs and Raiders in different colored sectors.

    If you place new sectors, can bandits spawn on them?



    Yes, since you first resolve the XPM spawning (which may result in the spawning of new sectors) and then spawn Raiders.

    In regards to moving and sectors, on page 3 it states "... and a number signifying the Movement Point cost you need to pass through it". What does "pass through" mean? Does that mean "to enter" the sector or "to exit" the sector, or both? For example, if sector A requires 2 movement, and sector B requires 3, if my current sector is sector A, does moving to sector B require 3 movement points, or 5?



    Read page 12 of the rule book, "Phase 3: Movement", section "Move". You pay the cost to enter a sector.

    Reply - Quote
  • Cowbot
    Cowbot 2016-07-15 17:18:45

    Thank you very much for the prompt response! I'm very grateful for your answers, especially the ones where the rules did cover it and I just missed the wording. Sorry about that. I read the rules front to back two+ times and I was still missing things.

    Reply - Quote
Terms & Conditions - Technical Support - Contact Us