Centauri Saga - General Discussion - A few questions

  • HIVE121
    HIVE121 2016-06-17 14:21:04

    Hi,

    I have a few questions.

    1. (quote from someone on the kickstarter comment section)
    "Gate Fluctuations (the Jumpgate event card) says i have to place "the" XPM on a new sector.
    I assume you mean with "the" XPM that one I want to put on the jumpgate card.
    If yes then I don't see the logic behind to place the XPM on a new sector because I have to resolve the hard encounter so I trigger the scenario rule that if I am successful to place the XPM on the jumpgate and if not I have to discard the XPM.
    Or I am wrong with that?"

    2. Can two bosses stay on one tile? E.g after using pushback.

    3. What come first, drawing a card from Ravager's Retaliation deck or spawing the Ravager?

    4. No Raiders can move or spawn in a tile with a starbase but what if I use Antigrav or Pushback? Can I still not move Raiders in such tiles?

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-06-18 03:52:12

    HIVE121 wrote:
    Hi,

    I have a few questions.

    1. (quote from someone on the kickstarter comment section)
    "Gate Fluctuations (the Jumpgate event card) says i have to place "the" XPM on a new sector.
    I assume you mean with "the" XPM that one I want to put on the jumpgate card.
    If yes then I don't see the logic behind to place the XPM on a new sector because I have to resolve the hard encounter so I trigger the scenario rule that if I am successful to place the XPM on the jumpgate and if not I have to discard the XPM.
    Or I am wrong with that?"



    If you draw this card, the immediately you do what the card says:
    a) You draw a new sector and place it on the board
    b) You move your armada in that sector
    c) You place the XPM you were trying to put on the Jumpgate on that sector
    d) You draw and resolve a Hard Exploration encounter.

    If you are successful, then you can do one of the following:
    a) You can put the XPM on the Jumpgate
    b) or (this is a variation to make things more challenging) you can simply leave the XPM where it is and continue playing normally

    2. Can two bosses stay on one tile? E.g after using pushback.



    Given the fact that you can NOT place a Thick Nebula adjacent to another Thick Nebula, the only way to manage to have two Bosses at the same sector is to actually get BOTH "Pushback" cards from the action deck, then move to those sectors, effectively lose two rounds and use the Action Cards. This is something extremely unlikely to happen.

    If you want to enjoy the game, then it would be better to not allow Pushback to move Bosses. And try to do what the scenario says: Build one Starbase for each Boss and defeat it in Combat.

    3. What come first, drawing a card from Ravager's Retaliation deck or spawing the Ravager?



    Raiders do not spawn "automatically". Usually it is either an Event or a Boss' ability that spawns Raiders. This means that you first do the "Ravager Retaliation", then "Event Resolution" and last "Scanning Report". As described in the rulebook p.12

    4. No Raiders can move or spawn in a tile with a starbase but what if I use Antigrav or Pushback? Can I still not move Raiders in such tiles?



    Yes you can. The rule says that they can not "spawn", it doesn't say that you can not move them in there. They can also be moved in such a sector using the Event or Boss' Ability.

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE121
    HIVE121 2016-06-18 10:55:01

    Kevorque wrote:

    Given the fact that you can NOT place a Thick Nebula adjacent to another Thick Nebula, the only way to manage to have two Bosses at the same sector is to actually get BOTH "Pushback" cards from the action deck, then move to those sectors, effectively lose two rounds and use the Action Cards. This is something extremely unlikely to happen.


    Happen in 3 of 4 games. So is not really extremely unlikely, we just know what we have to do^^


    Raiders do not spawn "automatically". Usually it is either an Event or a Boss' ability that spawns Raiders. This means that you first do the "Ravager Retaliation", then "Event Resolution" and last "Scanning Report". As described in the rulebook p.12


    I am talking about the Ravager and not the Raiders. The rulebook said only that the Ravager spawn during the Ravager Retaliation. So what come first? Ravager or the special event card?

    Yes you can. The rule says that they can not "spawn", it doesn't say that you can not move them in there. They can also be moved in such a sector using the Event or Boss' Ability.


    Really? The rulebooke said "No Raiders can move or spawn" so I though with Event or Boss effects no Raider can move into a starbase. It this a error in the rulebook?

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-06-18 14:38:58

    HIVE121 wrote:Happen in 3 of 4 games. So is not really extremely unlikely, we just know what we have to do^^



    Nice! I am assuming that you play with 4 players. In this case since it seems that you already have the basic mechanics of the game conquered, you could apply the rule "Bosses can not be moved by any action." to make things more interesting and challenging.

    I am talking about the Ravager and not the Raiders. The rulebook said only that the Ravager spawn during the Ravager Retaliation. So what come first? Ravager or the special event card?



    Sorry, I didn't understand it. So, you are talking about the "Open Confrontation" scenario. In that case you should first spawn the Ravager, and then resolve an event.

    Really? The rulebook said "No Raiders can move or spawn" so I though with Event or Boss effects no Raider can move into a starbase. It this a error in the rulebook?



    I am sorry again, this is my mistake. You are right, the rules are you can not "Move or Spawn", which means that you can not use anything to push a Raider inside a sector with a Starbase (unless otherwise stated by the scenario).

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE121
    HIVE121 2016-06-18 15:12:26

    Kevorque wrote:

    Nice! I am assuming that you play with 4 players. In this case since it seems that you already have the basic mechanics of the game conquered, you could apply the rule "Bosses can not be moved by any action." to make things more interesting and challenging.


    Nah all games I played so far was just a two player game.
    We found out a strong tactic very early.
    If we want more challenge, we have to change a lot:
    Remove all Pushback cards (or change it to bosses cannot be moved).
    Remove Scrapyard and Antigrav.
    The Ravager cannot place if he will move towards a boss.
    You cannot explore and combat in the same round.

    Sorry, I didn't understand it. So, you are talking about the "Open Confrontation" scenario. In that case you should first spawn the Ravager, and then resolve an event.


    Alright, I find out that the new scenario from the 6-player addon, is way better writen about this topic and much clearer.

    I am sorry again, this is my mistake. You are right, the rules are you can not "Move or Spawn", which means that you can not use anything to push a Raider inside a sector with a Starbase (unless otherwise stated by the scenario).


    Alright, thank you for your time.
    But I have a question about your last statement "unless otherwise stated by the scenario".
    I played WH40K and if a rule break a other rule it has to be very specific.
    E.g.
    No Raider can move into a sector with a starbase and I can built a starbase on the jumpgate.
    Scenario rule from fix the jumpgare said, all raiders move towards the jumpgate.
    Now the scenario don't specific that in this chase the raiders will ignor the rule from the starbase.
    So what now?

    Sorry for this many questions but like I said, I played WH40K and I learn that is very hard to play after RAI and is much easier to play after RAW but your rulebook and content is not easy to play if you use RAW.

    Reply - Quote
  • Asham Dukoti
    Asham Dukoti 2016-06-18 19:23:08

    The way the rule book works is as follows:
    The core rulebook, gives you an idea about how everything in the game works and explains anything you need to know in order to understand the game.
    Then, comes the scenario. The scenario always, overrules anything if it wants to from the core rule-book.

    For instance. If the core rule-book says "Raiders cannot be moved into or out of a starbase sector by any means". And in a scenario it says "you are allowed to built a starbase on the jump-gate sector".
    That means, that if you built a a starbase, on the jump-gate in this specific scenario, then the raiders will never be able to enter the jump-gate sector.

    Also to answer your "what happens if 2 bosses appear on the same hex".
    I find it really intriguing and amazing on how you actually managed to do that, and i am really, really anxious to know how you accomplished that! But, no matter how awesome it sounds, you can't do it. A boss, can never be on the same sector as an other boss.

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE121
    HIVE121 2016-06-18 21:04:09

    Asham Dukoti wrote:
    Also to answer your "what happens if 2 bosses appear on the same hex".
    I find it really intriguing and amazing on how you actually managed to do that, and i am really, really anxious to know how you accomplished that! But, no matter how awesome it sounds, you can't do it. A boss, can never be on the same sector as an other boss.


    It really easy, you need 2 Pushback action cards and both bosses need to be close (one sector away).
    Then just go on both sectors and push both into the "middle" sector.
    Is a easy strategy to defeat two bosses with one starbase.
    Kevorque said it is possible and allowed. I cannot find something that forbidden it. Thats why I asked in the first place.
    Even if it forbidden, you can do anyways the strategy but not in one turn^^

    I ask this only because I push two bosses into one sector that the ravager can destroy both and then I realized that nothing about this chase is in the rulebook.

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-06-18 22:55:21

    I think that we are reaching a point that we need to change the "Pushback" action card's description to the following:

    Move all enemy units (not Bosses) in your sector by one sector.

    In the current Campaign Scenarios, the Bosses are not meant to be moving around, so we need to address this issue. We will be issuing an official "Errata" in the next couple of days with corrections to some of the cards. Pushback will be one of them.

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE121
    HIVE121 2016-06-18 23:09:16

    Kevorque wrote:
    I think that we are reaching a point that we need to change the "Pushback" action card's description to the following:

    Move all enemy units (not Bosses) in your sector by one sector.

    In the current Campaign Scenarios, the Bosses are not meant to be moving around, so we need to address this issue. We will be issuing an official "Errata" in the next couple of days with corrections to some of the cards. Pushback will be one of them.


    Just name it "Move all Raiders"
    You made a different between Raiders, Bosses and Enemies in your rulebook.
    And enemies are both, so if you change it to "all enemy units (not Bosses)" then you are not anymore consistent with your own rules.

    If you want I can write a feedbacl about my opinion on the balancing of your game, because I found a few things that seem broken.

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-06-19 02:12:24

    You can not name it "Raiders", because this card is VERY useful in Arena Scenarios where you want to push other Players' Armadas too.

    That's the reason we had a couple of inconsistencies. Unfortunately the Arena PvP Scenarios were created after the Co-Op have finished, and that's why this card was changed from "Raiders" (which was the initial version) to "Enemies", but we missed the "Bosses".

    We are always open to more suggestions. We are preparing a new version of the Rulebook (as we said in the Kickstasrter Update), so, please give us your feedback so that we can incorporate anything that is not already fixed in the new print-run.

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE121
    HIVE121 2016-06-19 11:08:42

    Kevorque wrote:
    You can not name it "Raiders", because this card is VERY useful in Arena Scenarios where you want to push other Players' Armadas too.

    That's the reason we had a couple of inconsistencies. Unfortunately the Arena PvP Scenarios were created after the Co-Op have finished, and that's why this card was changed from "Raiders" (which was the initial version) to "Enemies", but we missed the "Bosses".

    We are always open to more suggestions. We are preparing a new version of the Rulebook (as we said in the Kickstasrter Update), so, please give us your feedback so that we can incorporate anything that is not already fixed in the new print-run.




    Then call it "Move Raiders and Enemy Player's".
    Create the new term "Enemy Player's" in your rulebook and you will have less trouble.
    Stick with your terms about your enemies and the player has it much easier to understand what the card can and cannot.

    Here the error's/missing things that I found in the rulebook:
    Action card(Pg.5):
    Expand and I believe Encounter phase is missing.
    Scanning Report(Pg.6):
    Please use the term "face up" for placing the sector's because earlier in the rulebook you explain what are "face down" sector's are.
    Bosses(Pg.10):
    You used the old pic of the Red Baron (I believe saw a few more kind of this error's).
    Open Confrontation(Pg.22):
    To be consistent, take the writing from your 6-Player Addon scenario about the Ravager and the Ravager's Retaliation, because it is much clearer and better writing as the from the Open Confrontation.

    About my feedback, I am not sure if I should write it here, because it contains strategy's that can affect player experience in a negative way maybe.
    Can I send you a PM or should I am writing it here anyway?

    Reply - Quote
  • Asham Dukoti
    Asham Dukoti 2016-06-19 11:32:05

    Your feedback is really appreciated and thank you for all the work you have done in finding this details!
    there is no negative feedback as long as it is constructive and made to aid the game to become better! :) So don't be afraid in posting anything you find that you think it can improve the quality of the game in any aspect!

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-06-19 14:53:54

    We will be implementing a Private Message system in our Hive platform, but it is not yet operational.

    Until then you send us a Private Message in Kickstarter if you wish.

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE121
    HIVE121 2016-06-20 10:17:55

    Hm I think I will post my feedback later in the forum, maybe it is better to discuss as if I send it only to you.

    I have two more questions.
    1: If I have to draw a action card(the blue ones) and no action card are left to draw. What happend? Can I draw the special one?

    2: Are 10 dice the maxium to roll? E.g. my Attack are nine and I used a card effect that allow me to roll four extra dice. Can I roll 13 dice or just 10 dice?

    And I found on the legend card.
    The color from lvl 1 and lvl 2 Raider are swaped. See attachment


    Attachment Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-06-20 22:06:35

    HIVE121 wrote:
    Hm I think I will post my feedback later in the forum, maybe it is better to discuss as if I send it only to you.

    I have two more questions.
    1: If I have to draw a action card(the blue ones) and no action card are left to draw. What happend? Can I draw the special one?

    2: Are 10 dice the maxium to roll? E.g. my Attack are nine and I used a card effect that allow me to roll four extra dice. Can I roll 13 dice or just 10 dice?

    And I found on the legend card.
    The color from lvl 1 and lvl 2 Raider are swaped. See attachment



    1. Simply reshuffle the Blue Action card Discard pile and put it back into play.

    2. There is no maximum in the number of dice you can roll. But you will need to either use some extra dice from another game, or roll the 10, count your success and then roll the extra and add the new successes.

    3. We know of the issue with the color on the Legend card, and we have already fixed it for the next print run.

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE121
    HIVE121 2016-06-20 22:25:33

    Kevorque wrote:
    1. Simply reshuffle the Blue Action card Discard pile and put it back into play.


    Really that simply? Not if you have nothing to reshuffle^^
    I mean literally no card left to draw.
    Zero
    All cards are gone.

    So I guess I have to use a card to gain the card back again?

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-06-21 04:05:32

    I do not understand :(

    If any of your Decks at any time have no more cards left, then reshuffle their respected discard pile and continue playing normally.

    Reply - Quote
  • HIVE121
    HIVE121 2016-06-22 11:41:42

    Kevorque wrote:
    I do not understand :(

    If any of your Decks at any time have no more cards left, then reshuffle their respected discard pile and continue playing normally.


    We had already all cards, there was no discard pile to reshuffle.
    We killed so much that we had all action cards and run out of a draw pile.
    But we didn't use any so there was no discard pile either. (And just btw you rules said that we don't need to waste space for a discard pile and we should put the card under the draw pile).
    Sorry English is not my native language, I hope you understand me now what I am meant.

    Reply - Quote
  • Kevorque
    Kevorque 2016-06-22 21:38:43

    OK, now it is clear to me :)

    Well in that case, there are no more cards to draw, so you do not draw any more cards!

    Reply - Quote
Terms & Conditions - Contact Us